Mirrored Window

What if A Window Was A Mirror?

I would see me, adorned and adorning; projecting.
I would see this as a form of imprisonment – like
my addiction to identity, consumerism, or trying to appease my God; not knowing
if it’s His voice, or just mine.

Would I notice, and therefore feel frustrated, that I can never
truly understand myself – knowing there are parts of me and my life
I can never access?

I am a mystery beyond my comprehension.

If I did know this about myself, would I then know that if I can barely
comprehend my entirety – how can I judge myself?
How can I judge you?

This mental illumination would then show hypocrisy in the shadows of me, of us –
that would be okay wouldn’t it? To cast light within?
To be honest with myself, and have myself be honest with me; this would be the beginning.

What If A Mirror Was A Window?

Would I see possibilities within me?

Would I see me forgiving another, before seeking an apology?

Would I see that virtue is more than the act of giving, but is,
the act of giving in secret?

Would I see that all conflict is the direct result of control?
Would I feel prompted to ask myself, ‘who is trying to control whom in this moment of conflict?’

Would I see that conforming to the convictions of another,
is to deviate from my own?

Would I see the selfishness in not living up to my full potential?

Would I not see how focusing on my own drama’s is me procrastinating?

If I could see all of this, would I not also see how every time I feel offended
by another, it is actually me offending myself through the lips of another? My fears
unwilling to be recognised; wanting to wear a mask.

Then I see that self-evaluation will douse all fire of contempt.

I see that life is an enigma, and when I try to piece it together; it crumbles
into reality.

I notice now that I am looking into a window, a window that is dim with reflection;
and I see humility.

~ Kelly Hartland

8 thoughts on “Mirrored Window

  1. Wow! 🙂 if i let it, my ego would be very flattered; impressed even! 😉

    It’s a very scary and confronting thing looking into that mirror with humble eyes, not to mention difficult, to say the least.

    Looking beyond just the image of us we can see is indeed the key, observing, without judgement, all that you mention, and more besides.

    Letting go of our conviction that the image is all there is that is ‘real’ in us.

    Learning how to see us and love us as does our God and to let that love shine out on all others from within.

    Kelly humbles Bob 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

